Craving | Overalls

In the fifth grade all I wore were overalls. Seriously. I had two pairs and I wore each one almost every other day. My fancy overalls had red flowers stitched on the bib (Oh yeah, I was super cool). After the fifth grade though, I ditched my overalls for some wide flared jeans and cargo pants (yeah, I really wasn’t that cool). But have you noticed that overalls are making a comeback?! My fifth grade self is giddy beyond belief.

So how could an adult woman wear a childish garment such as overalls? Think of them like your regular jeans. And believe it or not, overalls have become much more chic than when we were wee ones. If I were to wear a pair of distressed jeans, I would wear maybe a jeweled sweater or a simple button-up with a statement necklace. Same thing with overalls, wear some statement pieces and then it won’t feel so “kid-like” or “too young.” With a pair of really nice dark denim jeans I like to wear something a little more loose or care-free, say like a simple baseball tee or a white v-neck with some bright earrings. Try doing the same thing with a dark wash overall, like in my first photo example (below) with Blair from Atlantic-Pacific. And lately with graphic pants being on the trend, try a pair of printed overalls. Try polka dots with a floral print or lace with stripes.

Don’t let overalls intimidate you. Give them a whirl, your fifth grade self will thank you.

 

 

B.

atlanticpacific

chicadore

deercircus

 

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

2 thoughts on “Craving | Overalls

Leave a Reply

